In truth, though perhaps Joanna and I may have felt like it was us against the world when were first were married, we haven’t felt that way for a long time. But “You and Me Against the World” is here for reasons besides the fact that we like Helen Reddy’s voice and feminism.

First, the song captures the spirit of always being there for each other, having each other’s backs so to speak, and I’ve always known that Joanna was my strongest ally.

A second reason is more humorous: the lines, “Remember when the circus came to town; how you were frightened by the clown.” One of the many things that my wife and I share is some coulrophobia (which in our case extends beyond being disturbed by clowns to being a bit freaked out by ventriloquist’s dummies and many dolls). We’re not the only ones, of course — even Alice Cooper and Bart Simpson know that clowns can’t be trusted.

Finally, I like how the last verse of the song describes part of what I hope this blog will help do, for Joanna or me, should we not someday die together:

And when one of us is gone,
And one of us is left to carry on,
Then remembering will have to do,
Our memories alone will get us through
Think about the days of me and you,
Of you and me against the world.

Lyrics here, with video below (or one of her singing it with Kermit the Frog here).

