Considering that I’m now more than 40 songs into this project, perhaps it’s surprising that this is the first song on the list that has been mentioned by a reader. It probably won’t be the last, but there has been almost no overlap among my choices and readers’, or among the various readers’ songs — a further demonstration of how much good music is out there, and of how different songs touch different people in different ways.

When I was a kid riding a hay slip (basically a sled pulled behind a hay baler), I’d sing to myself throughout the long, hot, dusty and solitary hours. Most of the time I sang songs by either Kris Kristofferson or Jim Croce. As it happened, Joanna was also a Croce fan when we met.

Though we were at different stages in life when we married, the line, “I’ve looked around enough to know that you’re the one I want to go through time with” fit both of us at the time. And the line, “There never seems to be enough time to do the things you want to do when you find them” only becomes more true as we age.

“Time in a Bottle” lyrics here, with video below:

